turn, turn, turn: words of wholeness sung by nina simone, judy collins, pete seeger

This song flashed into my awareness early this morning with the reminder that Divine timing always trumps our calendars, goals, and spreadsheet objectives.

After viewing videos of the song performed by The Byrds, The Seekers, Nina Simone, and Judy Collins (60s and 90s versions), I couldn’t choose a favorite. So, here are (1) an early ’60s TV show featuring folksinging icons Collins and songwriter Pete Seeger…

… plus (2) a 1969 version by Nina Simone. The words hail from the Biblical Book of Ecclesiastes, and are both timeless and timely.

For those of you unfamiliar with Nina Simone, she was a legendary figure who went from being a child prodigy in North Carolina to her anointment as The High Priestess of Soul. Both songstress and storyteller, she was actively involved in the civil rights movement and used her music as both entertainment and activism. Dr. Simone (she held an honorary doctorate in Music and Humanities) died at her home in France in 2003.

Her official fan club website can be found here at www.ninasimone.com.

8 comments

  1. Rachel, this is a splendid post for so many reasons. Allow me to say that I admire and enjoy your inner and outer posture toward life. I regard you as a kindred spirit. Bless you.

    Like

  2. RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    Like

  3. Rafael

    In a workshop I heard a beautiful song I have been looking for ever since. Despite searching the Internet, I cannot find it. The track is called Transformation in Wholeness sung by women. Very meditative and evocative at the same time. Does anyone know on what CD I can find it, who these women are and/or where I can find the lyrics. Thanks much,
    Rafael

    Like

Leave a Reply

